Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

National Alliance CSR Award

About the Outstanding CSR of the Year Award


The OCSRY competition started in 1991 to honor customer service representatives and account managers who have made significant contributions to the insurance and risk management industry. The competition is sponsored by the Society of Certified Insurance Service Representatives (CISR) and the Society of Certified Insurance Counselors (CIC) -- proud member organizations of The National Alliance for Insurance Education and Research.

What's the deadline?

The competition deadline is May 1, 2020. Nominees must submit a completed entry form along with an essay to their licensed state association.

Who can nominate?

Anyone can make a nomination. You can even nominate yourself! Simply fill out and submit the Nomination Form. Once you have nominated someone, encourage them to write their essay and submit their entry.

Who can enter?

Anyone, regardless of affiliation or professional designation, whose primary duties center on insurance customer service, is eligible to enter. A CIC or CISR designation is not required. However, we recommend that candidates have a minimum of two years of industry experience and enough experience to share through their essays.

Eligible Candidates must:

  • Be insurance customer service representatives, account managers, or have primary responsibility for customer service duties
  • Submit a completed Entry Form that includes references, education/contribution/achievement information
  • Submit letters of recommendation from business/professional references.
  • Write a 500 to 1000-word essay on the following topic:
"Given changes in technology, the consolidation of agencies and societal influences, discuss four ways your clients' expectations have changed in the last 5 years and the two most important changes you expect to see in customer service in the next 5 years?"

Award Information

Nominees compete at state level to become one of five finalists. The national winner is announced in late July or August. Individuals who nominate the national winner receive a $1,000 cash award.

State Winners
  • National Recognition
  • Advancement to National Competition
  • Framed Certificate

  • $500 Cash Award
  • National Recognition
  • Gold and Garnet Pin

National Award Winner
  • $2,000 Cash Award
  • National Recognition
  • Gold and Diamond Pin